#449 Tom Robinson Band – Ain’t Gonna Take It

(UK – 1978)

The days of the rise of Tom Robinson as the spokessinger for “Rock Against Racism” and everything else that was on the rise in the Thatcher era, were full of gloom, anger and brittle hope. Songs like this would explain why people would take a stand and it made me want to do exactly that.

“Ain’t Gonna Take It” (click on pic to listen) is about taking a stand on any issue, not looking away, not merely enjoying privilege but being conscious of it and use it with care. The UK ‘Winter of Our Discontent’ (78-79) which eventually brought Thatcher to power, was not only one of the coldest post-war winters, but also my political coming of age season.

Years later, when asked to describe my position in society, I replied that this song represented it perfectly. There is still a lot of it in me, looming perhaps, lurking no doubt. “I’m a middle-class kiddie but I know where I stand”.

The song is just a great outburst of emotions, caught in a 3-minute punk rock song, meant to yell along at full volume, fists raised. A song smacking of barricades, tear gas, squatting, rallies and riots. And love in dangerous times…

Plaats een reactie